Nous écrire Contact             Français | English

Afra Regional Cooperation in Africa


 As of January 2013, AFRA  membership includes 39 African countries, namely: Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Chad, Central African Republic, Cote d’Ivoire, D.R. of Congo, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Seychelles, South Africa, Sudan, Tunisia, United Republic of Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

The AFRA Agreement is a legal document, which guides and regulates the implementation of the AFRA activities in the region, and defines the interfacing between the AFRA Member States and its partners, including the IAEA.

The scope of AFRA activities includes the peaceful application of all technically and developmentally sound nuclear techniques, which can contribute significantly towards the achievement of national and regional development objectives.

The IAEA is not party to AFRA, but has the mandate to provide technical and scientific backstopping as well as financial and administrative support in accordance with its rules and procedures that govern the provision of technical assistance to its Member States.Through a regional approach to development, AFRA seeks to accelerate development towards self-sufficiency in nuclear scientific disciplines and appropriate technologies in Africa. This is achieved by coordinating intellectual and physical resources and implementing innovative methods and practices cost-effectively.

AFRA’s development efforts are guided by a mandate, a vision and mission, all of which were developed and endorsed by the AFRA member states.







Background Image

Header Color


Content Color